Malcolm Fraser

Malcolm Fraser, 11 November 1975

Malcolm Fraser leaves Parliament House on 11 November 1975.

John Malcolm Fraser was appointed caretaker prime minister following the dismissal of the Whitlam government on 11 November 1975. His government was returned with a majority in the subsequent elections held on 13 December. He served as prime minister until 11 March 1983.

Fraser was elected the Member for Wannon (Victoria) in 1955. He served as a minister in the Holt, McEwen, Gorton and McMahon governments.

For more information see Prime ministers – John Malcolm Fraser and Fact Sheet 242 – John Malcolm Fraser.

This record can be viewed in the National Archives RecordSearch database.

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2018