New digital requirements for the public sector

Media release: Tuesday, 27 October 2015

The National Archives is providing government agencies with a glimpse into the future with a policy that unveils government expectations on digital information management over the next five years.

The Archives' Digital Continuity 2020 Policy, launched today by Secretary of the Department of Finance Jane Halton, promotes a consistent approach to information governance across the Australian Government.

It applies to all Australian Government agencies and relates to government information, data and records, including systems, services and processes as well as information created by other parties on behalf of agencies.

The policy's three key principles require agencies to manage their information like an asset and to keep information in an accessible digital form for as long as it is required. Information systems and processes must also be interoperable where information can be found, managed, shared and reused easily and efficiently.

'As the agency responsible for government information and records management, the National Archives will lead the implementation of the Digital Continuity 2020 Policy.

'Each year the organisation reports to government on the status of digital information management in agencies and recommends further enhancements,' said National Archives Director-General David Fricker.

'The standards within our new policy will become whole-of-government requirements and we're providing agencies with this opportunity to enhance their skills in digital continuity leading up to 2020.'

To further encourage Commonwealth agencies to meet digital standards, the National Archives introduced its inaugural Digital Excellence Awards in May this year. Details of the winning entries have been published online so other agencies can learn from the trailblazers. The new round of awards will be launched later this month.

The new policy's principles for agencies include the establishment of information governance committees by 30 June 2016, assessment of systems against the standard ISO 16175 and implementation of minimum metadata standards.

Digital Continuity 2020 has already commenced and will be phased in over the next five years.

Contact information

  • Elizabeth Masters (Media Officer)
    t (02) 6212 3957 m 0417 247 157 e

Twitter: naagovau

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2018