Apply for National Archives research grants

Media release: Wednesday, 1 April 2009

The National Archives offers three research grants:

  • the Margaret George Award for talented, emerging scholars – up to $10,000
  • the Frederick Watson Fellowship for established scholars – up to $15,000
  • the Ian Maclean Award for archivists and other professionals interested in archival issues – up to $15,000.

Applications are now being accepted and close on Friday 26 June 2009, and the grants will be awarded in September. The work can be undertaken at any one of the National Archives' offices, located in every Australian capital city, and the grants may be awarded on a full-time or part-time basis.

There are more than 50 million records in the National Archives' collection. It documents the full range of Australian Government activities since Federation in 1901, and includes significant 19th-century records dealing with activities that were transferred from the colonies to the Commonwealth.

Former award-holders have explored topics as diverse as censorship, volunteering, copyright reform, foreign policy and Australian prisoners of war.

For more information, visit our Research grants pages. 

Applications can be submitted to or mailed to: Grants and Awards, National Archives of Australia, PO Box 7425, Canberra Business Centre ACT 2610.

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2018